Downstairs Bathroom Gets Some Updates

It hit me this weekend. This uncontrollable need to do a little something to the dark and dingy basement bathroom.  I honestly dreaded stepping into this tiny space because almost everything needs an update. On top of that, I’ve scrubbed that toilet one billion times and it’s still dirty. Frustration at its finest.

Here’s how it looked a few days ago, which is also how it looked when we moved in. You can spot that dirty toilet bowl from even this bad angle!


The light fixture was incredibly dated. This is how I felt about it:



Here’s what I used:

– Unused paint that I bought for our entryway, but didn’t end up liking for that space. The color is Sedate Grat by Sherwin Williams

– Leftover Walnut wood polish from the master bath shelving project

– Clearance Target wall art that I bought for $5 dollars over 6 months ago

Here’s what I purchased:

– Nate Burkus rug from Target ($20)

– Threshold mirror from Target. This beaut is framed with both wood and silver… Mixed textured love at first sight. ($40)

– New light fixture from Menards. (On sale for $79)

– Vanity knobs and pulls. The pulls are from Menards ($10) and the knobs are from HomeGoods ($12 for set of four… Extras for a future project!)

– Towel hooks. The larger antler one is from HomeGoods ($10) and the smaller deer head one is too, but I found it is the clearance section for a steal! ($5)

 


And here’s how it came together:

One week until the marathon so I didn’t have a long run stealing my Saturday morning time. Instead, I turned on the podcast and removed the shelving and mirror and cleaned the room. Next up, I taped and primed the walls and wood paneling. And lastly, I ended the morning with two coats of paint.


  

Next up, I moved to the vanity. I removed the old hardware and realized I’d need to find the wood filler. Because I swapped out the pull handles for pull knobs on the cabinet doors, I had to patch up two holes. After addressing that, I sanded the vanity, refinished with a darker wood stain, and added the new hardware.


I bribed Matt into hanging everything and installing the new light fixture Monday night. One completed bathroom in exchange for chicken pad tai dinner and we had a deal!

And here is how it looks: 

Before and after:


After these small changes, the bathroom feels so much cleaner and a bit bigger! Cheers to a productive weekend, which also included the activities below.

Last long run in the perfect weather:
Boat ride with captain Izzy:


 And a beautiful wedding that ended with lots of welcome home kisses from Izzy!

  

One thought on “Downstairs Bathroom Gets Some Updates

  1. You are amazing! what a transformation! I think you ought to get a new toilet out of the deal! Nice time on your run! Wish you well on Sunday. Should be a beautiful day! Miss seeing you guys! Nice pic of you two!

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

