Popcorn Removal, Vents, Pumpkin, NOFO

After a busy and productive weekend, I had extra time on my hands today and decided to try and tackle some popcorn ceiling removal.  I started with the smallest room in our house, the master bath.  I read a lot about it on various blogs and it didn’t sound like it was too rough of a project.  So like I do for all my house projects, I changed in my DIY clothes, threw the hair up in a pony, turned on my podcasts, and was determined to tackle the project at hand!  FYI, my current favorite podcast is Jess Lively.  It’s inspiring 🙂 However, after 1 hour in and making super slow progress, I lost all hope and decided to quit.  So now our master bath looks like a construction zone, but I’m hoping I get the urge to start up on it again later this week. Only time will tell.  Here’s a few snaps on how it is looking.

The original ceiling, circa 1970:

IMG_1051

After a few minutes in, I was feeling good about this project! It was going to be easy!

IMG_1052

Or so I thought.  After 20 minutes in, it looked like someone broke 10,000 egg shells on our floor.

IMG_1054

IMG_1057

And 1.5 hours in, I decided this was just as bad as removing wallpaper.  I threw in the towel and cleaned up the gigantic mess.   So now our ceiling gets to look like this until I get my motivation back up.

IMG_1059  IMG_1060

Aside from the slight failure of this popcorn ceiling removal, we did take care of a few other house projects. Matt  updated gutter vents… or something like that. I don’t know what you call these things, but I take it this was an important update given how dirty the old ones were.

Dirty, am I right?

IMG_1045

Workin’ Matt:

IMG_1047

New and clean:

IMG_1046

In hope of getting in the fall spirit, I purchased some pumpkins and decided to try painting them instead of carving.  I didn’t buy paint or paint brushes, for this project and instead worked with what I had on hand. I really want to paint a beautiful cursive F on one of them, but none of my wall painting brushes worked… I gave it a shot, but it was a hardcore fail and isn’t even worthy of sharing.

I tried making one with plaid stripes. It actually doesn’t look terrible in this picture, but in it was ‘toddler’ project status in person.  I might try decorating them more with a permanent marker to add a little more detail and pizazz. For now, they are orange-less pumpkins.

IMG_1027 x IMG_1043 IMG_1048

And lastly, I added two wreaths to our front door. I bought the wood wreaths, the greenery, and leapord ribbon at Michaels and assembled at home.  They aren’t super autumnal, but I like that we can keep them up from season to season. My plan is to add different color flowers to them for each season, starting with winter.

IMG_1061

And its almost November and my flowers are still summery. Is that normal? I will take it!

IMG_1063 IMG_1062

Matt and I also enjoyed some fun in Northfield this weekend. So many fun memories on this campus.

IMG_1036

This view never gets old, and is much appreciated on Sunday evenings. Ah, the joy of regrouping for a hectic week. Thank you MN for your beauty 🙂  Now time to bring on week!

IMG_1065

One thought on “Popcorn Removal, Vents, Pumpkin, NOFO

  1. I always look forward to the updates! Beautiful flowers and Fall! Carleton looks like a lot of fun. Will you be down for Christian’s party?

    Like

Leave a Reply

