Painting the Bathroom Countertop

Can I get a cheers to a super productive and fun Saturday!? Sleeping in (7:30!), workout, ladies brunch, basement bath finishing touches, walk with a friend, dinner at the bar, basketball game watching, and wine drinking.  Pretty perfect.

So let’s jump to it! Here is how the basement bathroom finished up. I spent every morning this past week adding another layer of paint to the countertops. The morning paint fumes were well worth it because it looks so. much. better! I can’t get over how much a few coats of paint can change up a space. Below is an overview of the steps we took to get this done.

  1. Clean, clean, clean the surface
  2. Sand
  3. Add two coats of primer
  4. Sand down some more
  5. Add four coats of paint.  This is the Rustoleum product I used: Semi-Gloss White Paint

Here is the official “before” photo of the countertop:

IMG_3813

And another picture after a scrubbing it with deglosser. From what I heard on the internet, squeaky clean is imperative to ensure the paint sticks properly.

IMG_3825

Then I sanded the countertop and primed it with leftover paint from some other house projects:

IMG_3827.JPG

Next I added another coat of primer and 4 coats of the rustoleum paint:

IMG_3839IMG_3853

Lastly, my super handy husband, who loves nothing more than installing new faucets, spent a solid four hours removing rusty old pipes and the old-school handle in order to add this $30 faucet I found at Lowes.

The oldie:

IMG_3838

The newbie coming-to-be thanks to Mattie:

IMG_3922

And the newbie is officially ours. This is our third and final bathroom faucet in our house (though out kitchen faucet is still driving my bonkers):

IMG_3936.JPG

Such great progress:

IMG_3930IMG_3932

So. Much. Better. Right? I think so. And I might just be running down to the basement bathroom daily to remind myself how much I like it. The more steps the better. #Imfitbitobsessed

As I should be. Because this  bathroom went from this:

IMG_0351_4

To this:

IMG_3935

IMG_3924

As for our spending on this space, I think we only spent about $200. We bought everything mentioned in this post plus the additional $35 on the faucet and plumping parts. Thankfully, the paint was all left overs from other projects around our house. #abouttime.

And I’ll end this post with this picture of Matt from our inagural Thursday “we need to learn how to cook” dinner date night. Matt made pizza crust from scratch (and he;s mighty proud) and we both loved it! Half veggie for me, half meat for him, and red wine for all! We were both happy to celebrate Friday-eve!

IMG_3876.JPG

One thought on “Painting the Bathroom Countertop

Leave a Reply

