Wood Floor Stain Indecision and Vacation in our own City

The crew is making more progress on the floor installation. By Friday, they had all the wood down and added samples of the different stains so we could make a final decision on the color. Yikes, I didn’t think this would be such a hard decision. I’ve seriously been dreaming about shades of brown…

Here is a look at the raw wood in each of the new rooms. I am most excited to have the wood in the hallway. Given the amount of traffic in this space, I’m really looking forward to not freaking out about the stains and wear and tear on the carpet. Izzy on the other hand doesn’t seem excited about her new lack of cozy lounging ground. Rugs are coming Izz, rugs are coming!

Hallway:

IMG_4928

Living Room:

IMG_4923

Family Room:

IMG_4927

So far it is looking good, but to be honest, I am stressed out about some of the finished. Matt says I shouldn’t worry since they are not done yet and I know zero about installing wood floors, but the edges like this are adding unnecessary stress to my life… Supposedly there are transition pieces that will make this look seamless.

IMG_4981

Okay, now on to the hard part. The crew tested 5 different stains on the floor for us to choose from. The five option are all Minwax stains:

  1. Golden Oak
  2. Nutmeg
  3. Early American
  4. Dark Walnut
  5. Provincial

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 6.18.16 PM

Here are a few other looks from different angles:

IMG_4933IMG_4932

Right now, and with only 14 hours to decide, I am leaning towards the Provincial, though it’s a tough call because Early American is great, too. I am a little concerned that it might look weird if the floor stain doesn’t match the baseboard and trim molding stain, but I’m finding that is it okay to not be matchy matchy. Obviously, white trim would be ideal, but I’m working with the wood for now.

The tough part about the samples being in the middle of the room is that I can’t see how they look next to our maple baseboards. I went to Home Depot to pick up some similar wood samples (they are free at Home Depot but $1/piece at Lowes) so I could move the colors around to different rooms and get different light.  I found 2 samples that were semi-close to Provincial (the two sitting in the middle of the stain).

IMG_4979

Here is how they look next to the maple baseboard. I hope that looks okay. The goal is to have them coordinate while making the current maple trim feel a little less orange.

IMG_4980

Here are some examples of what I am thinking in terms of light and dark wood working together, though some are inverted with light wood on the floor and dark trim.

From Apartment Therapy:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 6.51.20 PM

From TRG Architects:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 5.47.30 PM

From Moroso Construction:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 6.58.57 PM

From Mckinney York Associates:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 7.07.31 PM.png

From Thompson Naylor Architect:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 7.11.13 PM.png

Fingers crossed I feel super confident tomorrow when we have to make our final call. Gah, as I type this I am liking Early American more. Here is a example of Early American from Classic Cottage LLC:

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 7.18.44 PM.png

But man, the Provincial is beautiful, too! Right? Here is an example of Provincial from the Grand Shack.  Or do these look exactly the same?

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 7.22.46 PM.png

Welp, and this is supposedly a mix of 50% Early American and 50% Provincial. Maybe I don’t pick a favorite and just do a little of both?

Screen Shot 2016-06-19 at 7.28.20 PM

In closing, I am SAD the weekend is over. Matt and I spent Saturday at the Minnehaha dog Park, Stone Arch Build Festival, and biking to breweries in MPLS. I promise Izzy is in that photo to the right.

Leave a Reply

