DIY Lighted Ladder and Other Sources of Illumination

Because our living room has no overhead lighting, and I no way am going to spend $4k to add it, I had to get creative in ways to add light so we can enjoy this room at night and throughout the winter.

I found this desk lamp and this floor lamp from Target and they fit in perfectly. I ended up ordering each of them twice because I kept seeing better offers on Target.com. I ended up getting the desk lamp for $40 and the floor lamp for $60 after layering a few discounts. Not so bad! Here is how they look in the room:

img_6821

img_6822

img_6825

But what I am most excited to share is the DIY ladder that Matt built. After seeing some similar ideas on pinterest, I thought we had the perfect spot for it in our living room. I took all the measurements, bought all the wood, got out the tools, and convinced myself that I could build this thing by myself! Welp, I tried my hardest, but I failed. Big time. Matt had to go buy new wood and start over. He got it put together like it was no big deal in 15minute flat… I’ll learn someday!

img_6373

img_6399

Once the ladder was built, I gave it a few coats of wood stain leftover from the DIY shelves we made for our master bathroom. Lastly, I gave it a coat of clear enamel so it has a glossy finish.

img_6402img_6476

I found these lights on Amazon. They do not photograph well, but I love the size of these lights. They don’t look too much like Christmas lights in real life. I wrapped up the ladder, hung some throw blankets, and we the finished product is complete!

img_6538img_6541img_6547

I’ll do a full recap of the room soon, complete with the budget breakdown, but here’s a look at how the room came together. I think we are pretty much done!

IMG_6811.JPG

One thought on “DIY Lighted Ladder and Other Sources of Illumination

Leave a Reply

